The Bigger, Better $20 Menu

103_1944.jpg

 

A couple weeks back, I posted a sample of our $20 budget menu. Well, this week it’s back. But it’s bigger, and possibly a little better. I’ve also posted a shopping list with our area prices to go along with the menu. I may be posting recipes and pictures as the week goes on…so stay tuned!

We still have a good bit of venison and many other things in our pantry. Our dry goods are basically stocked for months thanks to the food yard sale, which was done on adhering to this same budget. But I wanted to put together a menu that could be accomplished by others (particularly where access to salvage food sales is not available.) This menu includes a good portion of meat (though not much red meat unless ground beef/venison is substituted for the turkey) and does not require a lot of couponing.  (To see recipe links for menu items, click on underlined text.)

Breakfasts:
Honey Bunches of Oats Chocolate Clusters

 

Lunches:
Leftovers (Sandwiches if needed)

Fruit

Suppers:
Stroganoff
Potato Wedges

Corn, Toast

Chicken and Mashed Potatoes
Glazed carrots, Toast
Fresh Fruit

Taco Salad

Mustgo Soup
Crackers

Market Fresh Chicken Sandwiches
Carrot Sticks and Chips

Chicken Casserole

Oranges

Toast

Chicken and Rice Soup

Maybe we should call this week the week of the bird! 😉

23 Responses to The Bigger, Better $20 Menu

  1. Pingback: Shopping List for The Bigger, Better $20 Menu « Mill Musings

  2. Niki says:

    Wow..I am amazed at what you make happen for only $20!

  3. Cherith says:

    did you get all those chicken meals out of 1 4lb. chicken?? i never find that i can get that much out of one small fryer. maybe we just eat too much! or i don’t pick it well enough 🙂 i’ve been getting turkey breasts (around $9-10) and using them for a turkey meal, then other dishes/turkey salad later. you get lots more meat (all white) and less bone/easier to pull. i’m interested to know how you get your chicken to go so far!

  4. Lady Why says:

    That is a great menu!

  5. Allison says:

    This looks great! I may have to adapt this for our dinners….

    but, excuse my ignorance…what is “Mustgo Soup”?

    Thanks!

  6. Pingback: Questions on the $20 Menu « Mill Musings

  7. Mandy says:

    Thanks for sharing this! I am totally inspired. We don’t have a CVS near us or the cool deals you seem to get. I will have to keep looking.

  8. Pingback: Monday’s $20 Menu: Stroganoff « Mill Musings

  9. Michele says:

    Came over from Money Saving Mom. I applaud your frugality, but where are the green vegetables?

  10. keren says:

    Michele,

    We included greens with our taco salad. In our case, we used spinach. Normally, we eat broccoli and peas several times a week, though they’ve been left out this week. Thanks for pointing this out.

    Keren

  11. Gina says:

    WOW! $20 a week? And I thought my $1500/year budget was strict. You have just earned a new regular reader! I am so intrigued to see how you save at other things, too!

  12. Joy says:

    Wow, I am impressed. Since I live in Indonesia, I can’t get a lot of those things here, but I can feed my family here for cheap!! 🙂
    Blessings,
    Joy

  13. Stephanie says:

    $20 a week! That is fantastic!

  14. Owlhaven says:

    This looks great!! Thanks for sharing, and adding to my carnival!
    Mary, mom to many

  15. Athena says:

    My husband grew up with “Mustgo Soup”! 🙂 Sadly, he hates it now. He’s really not picky, except for that. Plus his mom put in lentils, so now he hates that and lentils. Thank you so much for sharing your ideas!

  16. I’m intrigued … what be this food yard sale of which you speak??

  17. Linds says:

    I love the Mustgo Soup idea! That would be great for us to incorporate in our menu planning come fall and winter!

  18. Keren says:

    Amy, the food “yard sale” is a salvage sale that happens every other week or so in our area. See my article here:

  19. Pingback: Frugal Cooking Carnival (updated) «

  20. Pingback: Frugal Cooking Carnival (updated) | owlhaven

  21. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday :

Leave a comment